slow foods mama, signing off

I remember in what seems a lifetime ago, a beloved yoga instructor teaching the lesson that before we can ever get to a heartfelt, genuine “YES” in our life, we must first learn to say “NO” with the conviction and strength of a young child. Only once we truly embrace the power of No will we find our way to Yes.

I am a long way from Yes, so it’s time to practice No.

Unfortunately, I am struggling to find the joy in this jerry-rigged, hand-made life of late. The glimpses of awe-inspiring beauty and joy are currently overwhelmed by frustration, a mother’s guilt and too much busyness.

I have a dozen posts sitting in my drafts but they all amount to not much more than grumblings of cautionary tales . . . I want to write about the truth of the beautiful, terrible struggle these early years of our dream have been, but I don’t have the heart or the strength or the time to both live them AND write about them.

I know the things I have grappled with this past year and a half will be of great use to many of you who are planning to follow the same journey and I desperately want to share them, but I simply can’t right now. There are too many tasks, too many little lives depending on me and so it’s time to say goodbye for now.

It’s time to retreat to the real world, work through the farm’s challenges with fleshy people, hold hands, nurture the community we are gratefully building here. Eventually there will be less re-inventing the wheel and I will have enough time between these early days and the present for reflection and gratitude. For now I am up to my elbows in it and I need to just BE in it. I will regret it if I don’t.

So here I go. So long. Farewell.

Good growing, Stacey

2 thoughts on “slow foods mama, signing off

  1. patsquared2

    I will miss your intelligence, your humor and your insight but I agree — sometimes you just have to say no to all the things that are pulling you away from what matters to you. Stay healthy and happy and grow well!

    Reply
    1. The Slow Foods Mama Post author

      Thanks Pat. It’s amazing how just the act of making the decision has lifted a load. I’ve appreciated your encouragement and support. We will still be out there doing our thing, but I’m writing them down on paper for a change. Keep up with our farm antics on our website our facebook page http://www.coghlancottagefarm.com We are only at the start of our second summer and already I can’t keep up with demand! We are meeting lots of interesting people and encountering lots of interesting, challenging problems. 🙂 Keep in touch! Stacey

      Reply

Leave a Reply

