mama get your . . . gun?

The first time Jeff took me home to meet his family on the other side of the country, he checked in on his guns. Cleaned them, oiled them, put them away. He tried to teach me about them, wanted to show me how to hold them, shared memories and family history.

I refused to so much as touch them.

Fast forward to a clear, cold November afternoon and I’m asking if he will teach me how to shoot.

What the . . . ???

We laughed, because it really is ridiculous how far I have changed in the last 6 years or so since that first trip home.

But, circumstances change and so do people. I would never in a million years have said I would want to hold a gun, never mind learn to shoot one.

Then a big, healthy, bold coyote came strolling down my drive in broad daylight.

Things change.

We both immediately brought to mind a line from one of our favourite plays Wingfield Farms. If you haven’t heard of Rob Beattie and you farm, you must watch.

The story follows a Toronto stock broker who moves to the country (not far from where my hubby grew up) and tries his hand at farming.

You will wet your pants laughing. We saw this show live a few years back and we were the youngest ones there. It’s a one man show. Just sublime.

Anyway. There is one scene where he is having trouble with a protected species of hawk killing his livestock. He can’t shoot the hawk because of it’s protected status and goes through quite a bit of trouble trying to figure out what to do.

Then one day he comes home and the hawk is suddenly gone.

His wife simply states, matter-of-factly :

“Guinea fowl are a protected species, too, Walt.”

4 thoughts on “mama get your . . . gun?

  1. Deb Weyrich-Cody

    Yes! LOVE Walt Wingfield and how he just nails all of the “characters” in their rural community. (I’ve got to admit I can’t help but picture (some of) them with the faces of childhood neighbours; )
    First, I must admit to being brought up in similar circumstances as your DH, but isn’t it funny how “long” guns suddenly snap into proper focus when faced with protecting (or feeding) one’s family? Handguns? Now that’s a different kind of hunting that I disagree with COMPLETELY!! We already have laws in Canada to reasonably control the use of handguns, but unfortunately, to borrow a phrase, “Laws are for honest people”…
    Here’s a link to Toni’s blog: being in Kowichan, she’s pretty close to your neck of the woods and discusses similar moments of self discovery and change of heart on the complicated subject of self sufficiency.
    http://backyardfeast.wordpress.com/

    Reply
  2. oceannah

    on the homestead or farm one should (imo) at the very least have a .22. When I lived in PA I was living in timber rattlesnake & bear country & often was out in the woods alone…wearing snake gaiters ‘cept in winter… luging along a rifle was cumbersome and hand gun permits were easily obtained. The biggest rattlesnake I came across was 38 inches long without its head (which was crushed by a car). Times & places change. I highly recommend a gun safe and or locks for all. Good luck on your new learning adventure.
    *anna

    Reply
    1. The Slow Foods Mama Post author

      I think there is a 22 in my future. Jeff figures that is the minimum as well. He grew up in a hunting family, so thankfully it won’t be the blind leading the blind!

      I’m still a bit freaked out by the idea, but the coyotes seem quite comfortable here – I think they pretty much had the place to themselves most of the year; the previous owner was only here on weekends here and there.

      Reply
    2. Deb Weyrich-Cody

      Such things as trigger locks and gun safes are covered by Federal law – considered a part of Safe Storage and mandatory for both guns and ammunition in Canada.
      P.S. Good luck, Annie Oakley (and keep it snug to your shoulder; )

      Reply

Leave a Reply

