acceptance

So.

The hurricane has passed and so has my minor meltdown.

The pantry is stocked, my laundry is done, I finally baked some bread and managed to interview three office assistants in the space of an hour and a half.

I was late for the interview, my house is still a mess, I set off the smoke alarm at 6 am baking the bread and the applesauce went to the chickens instead of the larder.

No small children died. The sky did not fall.

As I talked through my lapse of sanity with my hubby, I told him –

I’m not looking for perfection. I don’t want to be a super mom. But I don’t feel like I’m doing my best at anything in my life right now.

He said,

Maybe this is your best right now.

Huh.

On one hand I thought – Well that kind of sucks. On the other hand I thought – PHEWPH.

I can stop feeling guilty?

He is a very practical man. He spends his day solving problems, all day, every day. Building houses has taught him that sometimes you have to just start where you are with the parts that you know. Once you get moving, the parts that seemed unclear or confusing will become obvious as you go.

Like a giant jigsaw puzzle; things that  seem impossible now will become possible later.

I dumped the chicken waterer all over myself this morning for the third morning in a row, and managed to break it in the process.

It was a sign.

I said, Bugger It, went down to the co-op and picked up a waterer that doesn’t require so much manual dexterity so early in the morning.

Sometimes you’ve just got to accept where you’re at.

7 thoughts on “acceptance

  1. df

    Replacing the damn chicken waterer sounds like a genius move! Glad to hear you’re feeling a bit more settled. Far from perfect, I know, but getting a handle on it. I’m always trying to get a handle on things, and your frustrations are so familiar. For what it’s worth.

    Reply
    1. The Slow Foods Mama Post author

      Thanks! All I could think was surely someone has a better designed chicken waterer out there! I was so mad yesterday I was prepared to go design one myself and make a million dollars.

      I broke the waterer in a fit of rage. Don’t tell. 😉

      Reply
      1. df

        Oh Stacey, your honesty is so amazing. I’ve broken diabolical things like that when enraged once or twice in my life too! I’m cheering over here!

  2. the food fighters

    This cracked me up. I will forever remember (and remind myself of) the line “Maybe this is your best right now.” It reminded of when I was complaining to my best friend a few weeks before my wedding, “What if I look back on my wedding pictures in ten years and I look fat.” She quickly responded, “Trust me. Nobody EVER does that.”

    Reply
  3. Heidi @ lightlycrunchy

    You know, I would have done the same thing. I had an exhausted mini meltdown too the other night. In the end, my work got done, with the help of kids and husband. It helps when they notice how much work there is to run a household and work outside of it.

    Reply
  4. Deb Weyrich-Cody

    Right on! Got this visual of a mess of kite string, tangled electrical cord, knotted shoelace… If you pick away at the loose ends long enough, eventually you can see where they all lead and the blockage amazingly just melts away or, at the very least you’re left with the odd irredeemable knot – ’cause sometimes people just pull harder rather than stop before it’s too late… Maybe Granma’s “Can’t see the forest for the trees” works here?
    (Glad you’re working out the knots; )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

