raspberry frozen yogurt

raspberry harvest

This morning the little monster and I tucked into the farmer’s market at Trout Lake. We are so lucky to have such a fantastic spot for our local market. Trout Lake is a little oasis in the heart of busy, urban East Van.

I promised the hubs I wouldn’t spend a fortune (as I’m apt to do at the market, which is why I rarely go) so I only took a little bit of pocket money for a treat.

The boy has completely ravaged our substantial raspberry harvest, devouring them handful by chubby handful every chance he gets. At only 15 months old he quickly learned to decipher the gorgeously sweet from the over-tired or unready. A pint of organic raspberries seemed an easy choice for our treat.

We enjoyed a few while he was held mesmerized by the morning’s mexican band, the rest he bore carefully home.

In keeping with my quest to lose weight before baby number two (but not completely forsake my sweet tooth) and keep my hubby happy, I whipped up a batch of raspberry frozen yogurt with the remainder.

raspberry frozen yogurt recipe

Raspberry Frozen Yogurt Recipe

  • 2 1/2 cups of the richest plan greek yogurt you can find. (I used 11% MF)
  • Whatever remains of your pint of raspberries after snacking. We had about 3/4 of a pint left.
  • 1/4 cup of honey.
  • Pinch of salt.
  • Just because I was feeling naughty – One capful of Triple Sec. Completely unnecessary but ridiculously delicious.
  1. Heat your berries in a sauce pan just enough to get them to break down so you can mash them. You can also just run them through your whizzer. (Mine is on the fritz)
  2. Press the raspberries through a fine mesh sieve into a large bowl to get out the seeds. If you don’t mind seeds you can skip this step. I hate getting them in my teeth.
  3. Add everything else and give it a stir.
  4. Pour it in your ice cream maker and prepare according to your machines instructions. I use a Kitchen Aid ice cream attachment. ( I heart my Kitchen Aid. )
  5. When ice cream is at soft serve stage you can put it in a container to ripen in the freezer . . . If you can resist destroying the whole tub as soft serve . . .

homemade raspberry frozen yogurt recipe

2 thoughts on “raspberry frozen yogurt

    1. The Slow Foods Mama Post author

      Thanks! It turned out well – not too sweet, and best part took all of 5 minutes to put together. So much easier than custard-based ice cream.

      We usually have the same trouble around here, despite our huge raspberry patch . . . But seems my discerning 15 month old determined these ones were too over-ripe for his taste. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

