homemade vanilla extract

recipe homemade vanilla extract

I go through a lot of vanilla. A lot.

I can’t bare to use that crumby artificial stuff. It’s just not right. Only the best, pure vanilla extract will do, and it costs me a fortune.

I got a good deal on vanilla beans at one of my favourite cooking shops in East Van, Gourmet Warehouse, and decided it’s time to bite the bullet and make my own.

I’ve made vanilla before with bourbon, but found the flavour of the bourbon a bit overwhelming. I longed for a cleaner taste. So this time I’ve gone with vodka.

I did a test run with one of the half empty bottles in my liquor cabinet recently and was thrilled with the result.

homemade vanilla extract recipe with vodka

Homemade Vanilla Extract Recipe

  • 1  750 ml bottle of vodka (go big or go home!)
  • 1  750 ml mason jar or glass container with tight fitting lid of similar size
  • 20 vanilla beans (See above re: go big or go home)
  1. Slice vanilla beans in half length-wise.
  2. Scrape out the seeds. Or don’t. Up to you. I’m impatient and I think scraping the seeds makes it go faster.
  3. Pop the beans and seeds in your jar and glug the vodka over top.
  4. Give the jar a good shake, keep it someplace out of bright light and give it a shake every few days.
  5. In a few weeks you’ll have deep, dark, aromatic vanilla extract!

4 thoughts on “homemade vanilla extract

  1. Jimmy Cracked-Corn

    I need to give this another try. My wife deemed my first vanilla making venture a failure. I suppose it was just too weak. Either not enough beans in too much alcohol or just a weak set of beans to begin with. They were suspiciously cheap on ebay.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

